The  Fraud   Farm


D. Larry Crumbley




The Fraud Farm is dedicated as a depository for fraud documents and memorabilia. Our goal is to collect, organize, maintain, preserve, and assist users with information about white collar crime and abuse. The collected data and materials should aid in the deterrence and detection of fraud and abuse. We are especially interested in forensic techniques and similar materials.


This fraud research depository is collecting evidence, entries, books, ledgers, stories, articles, schemes, aids for detection, photos and any other information about fraud and abuse. Essentially, we are seeking to preserve materials for historical purposes in order to deter and detect fraud and abuse which is estimated to be between $700 billion to $1 trillion in the U.S. each year. New fraud schemes and forensic techniques to stop white collar crime are welcomed. We especially encourage professors to video interviews with both the good and bad guys.


Email Dr. Crumbley with possible donations


The Fraud Farm offers a speakers’ bureau called Crooks & Books. Both Dr. Crumbley and Aaron Beam are available to speak to groups and organizations about fraud and forensic accounting.


Dr. Crumbley, CPA, CFF, MAFF, Cr.FA, FCPA, is editor of The Journal of Forensic and Investigative Accounting. Go to Crumbley’s resume.


Aaron Beam was one of the original founders of HealthSouth, retiring in 1997. The former HealthSouth CFO testified in the Richard Scrushy trial that Scrushy told him to fix the company’s financial results so that they matched the estimates of Wall Street analysts.


Contact Crumbley for more information. 225-578-6231 or 225-763-6409.


            Department of Accounting

            2833 Business Education Complex

            Louisiana State University

            Baton Rouge, LA 70803


Aaron Beam information is; 251-214-4654; 251-964-8014.



Periodically the Fraud Farm will announce certain fraud awards. We welcome suggests from companies and individuals.


The Piranha Award - Given to the person or group that has had a strong influence on detecting fraud, abuse, and corruption.


The Weasel Award - A negative award given to the person or group that has had an unfavorable influence on stopping fraud, abuse, and corruption.


The Anaconda Award - The company or group that takes significant proactive steps towards eliminating fraud, abuse, and corruption.



2012 Awards:


The Piranha Award goes to Kyle Lagow, the whistleblower, whose lawsuit started an investigation that resulted in a $1 billion settlement between the U.S. Department of Justice and Bank of America over alleged mortgage fraud at Countrywide.  Mr. Lagow did receive a $14.5 million award.


The Weasel Award goes to Rita Crundwell, the financial officer of the small town of Dixon, Illinois, who was accused of stealing $53 million from the city to run a nationally renowned horse breeding business.


The Anaconda Award goes to State Integrity for gathering data and issuing the state report card designed to expose practices that underline trust in state capitols. For example, Virginia, Wyoming, South Dakota, and Georgia ranked at the bottom.






The Piranha Award goes to Cyber Source Corporation for their 2012 Online Fraud Report that outlines online payment fraud, merchant practices, and benchmarks.


The Weasel Award goes to former MF Global chief Jon Corzine (formal senator and governor of New Jersey) who apologized because of an estimated $1.2 billion missing funds resulting in the brokerage firm’s collapse. He said, “I simply do not know where the money is, or why the accountants have not been reconciled to date.”


The Anaconda Award goes to Irving Picard, Bernard Madoff’s trustee, for filing more than 1,000 lawsuits on behalf of formal Madoff customers (e.g. $354.9 million, $179.4 million, $ 122.2 million).  His website, The Madoff Recovery Initiative, shows $9.133 billion recoveries and settlements and $332.6 million distributed from customer funds.


2010 Awards:


The Piranha Award goes to COSO, for the publication of Fraudulent Financial Reporting 1998-2007, by M.R. Beasley, J.V. Carcello, D.R. Hermanson, and T.L. Neal.


The Weasel Award goes to David Friehling, the accountant for Bernie Madoff. The feds accused him of rubber-stamping the $65 billion ponzi scheme.


The Anaconda Award goes to the AICPA who has developed an examination for CPAs to pass in order to receive the Certified in Financial Forensics.


Forensic Accounting

A world unraveled

Find the Fraud


Crumbley & Beam

LSU Fraud Conference

July 17, 2006


Photo by Don Kadair

Last updated: June 9, 2012